Comme des enfants – Coeur de pirate. French lyrics and English translation.

Coeur de pirate released her debut album recently. She is a young woman from Québec and I am a big fan of her first album. This song has a lot of lyrics, and I had a very hard time understanding it all at first. This is my own translation, but I’ve had some input from others that speak French better than I do. Lyrics, translation, video, and an explanation of the phrases and vocabulary are after the jump.

The vocabulary and an explanation of the phrases come after the lyrics and translation.

Click here to see lyrics and English translation of Coeur de pirate’s song “Ensemble.”

French English
Alors tu vois, comme tout se mêle
Et du cœur à tes lèvres, je deviens un casse-tête
Ton rire me crie, de te lâcher
Avant de perdre prise, et d’abandonner
Car je ne t’en demanderai jamais autant
Déjà que tu me traites, comme un grand enfant
Nous n’avons plus rien à risquer
À part nos vies qu’on laisse de coté

Et il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort
Mais il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort

C’en est assez de ces dédoublements
C’est plus dure à faire, qu’autrement
Car sans rire c’est plus facile de rêver
À ce qu’on ne pourra, jamais plus toucher
On se prend la main, comme des enfants
Le bonheur aux lèvres, un peu naïvement
Et on marche ensemble, d’un pas décidé
Alors que nos têtes nous crient de tout arrêter

Il m’aime encore, et toi tu m’aimes un peu plus fort
Mais il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort
Et malgré ça, il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort
Mais il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort

MUSICAL INTERLUDE

Encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort
Mais il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime pas plus fort
Malgré ça il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un plus fort
Mais il m’aime encore, et moi je t’aime un peu plus fort

REPEATS

So you see as everything gets mixed up
From your heart to your lips, I become a headache (problem)
Your laugh defies me to let you go
Before losing hold and abandoning
Because I would never ask you for that much
You already treat me like a big child
And we have nothing left to lose
Except our lives, which we have set aside

And he still loves me, and me I love you a little more
But he still loves me, and me I love you a little more

That’s enough of this splitting in halves
It’s harder to do, otherwise
Because without laughter it’s easier to dream
Of what we can never again touch
We take each others hands, like children
The happiness on our lips, a bit naively
And we walk together with a determined step
While our heads yell at us to stop everything

He still loves me, and you love me a little more
But he still loves me, and me I love you a little more
And despite this, he still loves me, and me I love you a little more
But he still loves me, and me I love you a little more

INTERLUDE MUSICALE

Again, me I love you a little more
But he still loves me, and me I love you a little more
Despite this, he still loves me, and me I love you a little more
But he still loves me, and me I love you a little more
But he still loves me, and me I love you a little more

RÉPÉTER

If you like this song, be sure to check out my translation of Coeur de Pirate’s new single: Adieu (French lyrics and English translation).

Vocabulary:

mêler: to mix up, to mix

un casse-tête: Problème difficile à résoudre. English: a headache, or a difficult problem.

lacher: to release, to relinquish, to drop off, to let go

prise: hold, grip, grasp

dédoubler: partager en deux. English: to split in half

dédoublement: the act of splitting in half

décidé: determined, decided, purposeful

Click here for the video with French subtitles. (Unfortunately I cannot embed this video.)

This version has a few errors, but I’ve included the proper French lyrics and the translation below.

8 Responses to Comme des enfants – Coeur de pirate. French lyrics and English translation.

  1. [...] is sung by Coeur de Pirate and the song is called Comme des Enfants. You can find the translation here. [...]

  2. Cody says:

    I love this song so much!

  3. Matt says:

    If you like David Usher, I like this song alot

  4. [...] Have you ever heard of Coeur de Pirate, the Quebec-native who has the most lovely voice and sings in French? I once saw her perform at the Apple store in Montreal, in September of 2009 and she was so lovely. I love her song “Comme des enfants” (see video here and lyrics, and English translation, here). [...]

  5. [...] 2. French lyrics. I love my native language, but French just sounds better when put to music. Sometimes the syllables seem to skip across the notes like a stone on the water; other times a lovely long French vowel carries over a few beats. You don’t have to know what it means to enjoy it, but if you’re curious, you can look up an English translation here. [...]

  6. weirdmuggle says:

    Reblogged this on bintang.

  7. Reblogged this on Le Blogue Français 9 du Robert and commented:
    Found this on french2music.wordpress.com :) the song is stuck in my head <3 and I wouldn't have it any other way

  8. enfant says:

    Love this song… Makes me feel sad and happy at the same time. touché ma couer. favourite singer ever. hope she goes far. really far.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

